Fifty new research projects can get underway immediately, the Turnbull Government announced today, as part of $38.6 million worth of funding through the Australian Research Council. 

Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham said the Future Fellows will help the nation innovate, invent and apply new ideas across key research areas, forming part of the Turnbull Government’s Innovation Agenda. 

“These 50 Fellows will build on the nation’s innovation efforts and deliver research outcomes that will improve the lives of everyday Australians.

“Like Dr Timothy Dargaville from Queensland University of Technology, whose $812,460 Future Fellows funding will help him develop a 3D moulding process that could be used for tissue transplants.

“We know the important value of the Future Fellowships scheme but the previous Labor government left a funding cliff for this vital research program. This Government is committed to making Future Fellowships an ongoing program by awarding 100 four-year fellowships a year.”

“To be an innovative nation we must support our outstanding researchers to ensure we retain a strong research workforce for many years to come,” Minister Birmingham said.

This announcement builds on the $2.3 billion of funding for national scale research announced in the Turnbull Government’s Innovation Agenda.

Some of the other 2015 Future Fellows and their four-year funded projects include:
• Dr Mark Waters from The University of Western Australia who will receive $689,052 to investigate new ways to improve crop productivity.
• Dr Fiona Barlow from Griffith University will receive $802,615 to investigate the harmful effects of racism and develop solutions to promote social cohesion. 
• Dr Qiaoliang Bao from Monash University who will receive $824,960 to engineer novel two-dimensional nanomaterials, with the potential to help with high-power conversion efficiency for the electronic and energy industries.

More information on the 2015 Future Fellowships announcement is available on the ARC website. 

A snapshot of funding by state and university is attached. 

Minister’s Media Contact: James Murphy, 0478 333 974 / Nick Creevey, 0447 644 957
ARC Media: 0412 623 056 or 

Future Fellowships 2015 funding outcomes — Snapshot by State and Organisation


Administering Organisation Total number of projects Total ARC funding
Australian Capital Territory 5 $3,751,315
The Australian National University 5 $3,751,315
New South Wales 13 $10,385,527
Macquarie University 5 $3,683,068
The University of New South Wales 1 $903,625
The University of Newcastle 1 $690,352
The University of Sydney 3 $2,477,935
University of Wollongong 3 $2,630,547
Queensland 9 $7,129,434
Griffith University 3 $2,144,131
Queensland University of Technology 1 $812,460
The University of Queensland 5 $4,172,843
South Australia 2 $1,724,012
The Flinders University of South Australia 1 $919,052
The University of Adelaide 1 $804,960
Tasmania 1 $660,751
University of Tasmania 1 $660,751
Victoria 18 $13,390,272
La Trobe University 2 $1,518,207
Monash University 8 $6,065,659
Swinburne University of Technology 2 $1,364,704
The University of Melbourne 6 $4,441,702
Western Australia 2 $1,606,689
The University of Western Australia 2 $1,606,689
Total 50 $38,648,000