• Joint ministerial statement
25 March 2020

The COVID-19 pandemic is a serious global crisis. As part of our collective response to combat COVID-19, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, New Zealand and Singapore are committed to maintaining open and connected supply chains. We will also work closely to identify and address trade disruptions with ramifications on the flow of necessities.

We recognise that it is in our mutual interest to ensure that trade lines remain open, including via air and sea freight, to facilitate the flow of goods including essential supplies.

We affirm the importance of refraining from the imposition of export controls or tariffs and non-tariff barriers and of removing any existing trade restrictive measures on essential goods, especially medical supplies, at this time.

We are committed to working with all like-minded countries to ensure that trade continues to flow unimpeded, and that critical infrastructure such as our air and seaports remain open to support the viability and integrity of supply chains globally.

Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment, Australia, Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham

Minister at the Prime Minister’s Office and Minister of Finance and Economy II, Brunei Darussalam, Hon Dato Dr Amin Liew Abdullah

Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade, Canada, Hon Mary Ng

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Chile, Teodoro Ribera

Union Minister for Investment and Foreign Economic Relations, The Republic of the Union of Myanmar, ThaungTun

Minister for Trade and Export Growth, New Zealand, Hon David Parker

Minister for Trade and Industry, Singapore, Hon Chan Chun Sing