The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) Board has a new chairperson with Ms Belinda Robinson appointed by Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham.


Minister Birmingham said he welcomed the incoming chair and the extensive experience she would bring to the role.


“Belinda Robinson’s commitment to education in this country is beyond question,” Minister Birmingham said.


“Her experience over more than 15 years in CEO positions adds to her wealth of knowledge that she will bring to this appointment and I wish all the best as she takes ACARA forward.”


Ms Robinson was most recently CEO of Universities Australia and has board positions including on the Government’s International Education Coordinating Council, as a non-executive director of the ASX-listed Beach Energy and on the board of the CSIRO and the Institute for Minerals & Energy Resources.


Ms Robinson is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She also has a master of Environmental Law (ANU) and a Bachelor of Arts (UNE).


Minister Birmingham also thanked the outgoing chair, Emeritus Professor Steven Schwartz, for his time heading the ACARA board, between June 2015 and May this year.


“Professor Schwartz has done an outstanding job leading the ACARA Board and I sincerely thank him for his service over this period,” Minister Birmingham said.


“His time at the top of the ACARA Board saw a number of significant milestones, including delivering the response to the 2014 Review of the Australian Curriculum and the 2015 Review of ACARA.


“Professor Schwartz should rightly be proud of his service to education in this country and to those who have passed through our education system in that time.


“I look forward to Ms Robinson continuing Professor Schwartz’s great work, including helping oversee the transition to delivering NAPLAN online which will give families and schools faster results and a clearer picture of how students are performing.”


Current members of the ACARA Board:

  • Ms Belinda Robinson (Chair), former CEO of Universities Australia.
  • Mr Norm Hart (Deputy Chair), former president of the Australian Primary Principals Association (retired).
  • Mr Allan Blagaich, Executive Director of School Curriculum and Standards Authority, WA Department of Education and Training.
  • Ms Susan Bowden, Executive Director of Education Policy and Programs, NT Department of Education
  • Mr Tim Bullard, ‎Secretary of Tasmanian Department of Education.
  • Ms Susan Cameron, Executive Director of Learning Improvement, SA Department of Education and Child Development.
  • Mr David de Carvalho, Chief Executive of NSW Education Standards Authority.     
  • Ms Deb Efthymiades, Deputy Director-General of the Education Strategy Division, ACT Education Directorate
  • Ms Valerie Gould, Executive Director of WA Association of Independent Schools.
  • Mr Michael Hewitson AM, retired principal of Trinity College – Gawler, Deputy Mayor of Unley, SA, and author.
  • Dr Neil McGoran, Director of Catholic Education South Australia.
  • Dr David Howes, Chief Executive Officer, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority