Senator the Hon. Simon Birmingham
Minister for Finance
Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for South Australia

The Hon. Paul Fletcher MP
Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts

Date: Tuesday, 5 April 2022

The Morrison Government has appointed Ms Nicole Lockwood and Ms Pam Bains as Non-Executive Directors to the NBN Co Limited (NBN Co) Board for three-year terms, and has reappointed Mr Michael Malone for a further three-year term.


Ensuring Australians have better access to faster broadband through the NBN forms a critical part of our Government’s plan to make Australia a top ten data and digital economy by 2030.


Ms Lockwood is founder and Director of Lockwood Advisory and is currently Chair of Infrastructure Western Australia, the Malka Foundation and Airbridge Networks. She has a strong legal, regional, and public policy background, and was previously a board member of Infrastructure Australia, Commissioner of the Western Australian Planning Commission and Deputy Chair for the Regional Development Council.


Ms Bains is currently the Network Group Executive of Aurizon, with extensive commercial and financial experience through a range of prior roles, including Chief Financial Officer and Head of Finance at Telefonica O2 UK, Group Financial Controller at Next PLC, and at GE Capital Bank. Ms Bains is also a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales.


Ms Lockwood and Ms Bains’ skill sets will strongly complement the current NBN Co Board, which includes Mr Malone who will continue to be a valuable asset for the Board.


These appointments will complement a strong and diverse Board as it continues to oversee NBN Co’s transition into its operational phase, following the completion of the network build.


The Government congratulates Ms Lockwood, Ms Bains and Mr Malone on their appointments.