Some of the finest university educators in New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory have been recognised for their innovation and commitment as part of the Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) recognise and reward staff who have made significant contributions to the quality of student learning over a sustained period.

Twenty-two citations have been awarded to 10 universities in NSW, while staff at the Australian National University received five citations. Five citations for team contributions are among the 27 being awarded to NSW and ACT universities.

Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham said there is an exciting level of innovation and initiative at the heart of the work of this year’s citation recipients.

“The 2017 NSW/ACT award winners are evidence of some of the quality of education experience that students receive from Australian universities,” Minister Birmingham said.

“These citations are recognising educators from a wide variety of disciplines including engineering, health sciences, law, Indigenous studies, education, earth sciences, languages, politics, and psychology.

“The Turnbull Government is proud of the strength of the higher education sector, but it’s only made possible thanks to the dedication and professionalism of our university educators, some of whom we recognise through these citations.

“Dr Brookhouse from the Australian National University won a citation for his work designing and implementing a range of teaching resources for statistics, which provides an immersive and transformative environment for students that have real world relevance, is one of many projects acknowledged in today’s awards.

“Associate Professor Anne-Marie Morgan from the University of New England also received a citation for her work in implementing a network-building online collaborative community of learners in languages education, as a model for professional practice for teaching languages in Australian schools.

“Dr Lauren Kark from the University of New South Wales was also recognised for creating an engineering program that enables students to genuinely contribute to improving healthcare provision in developing countries.

“I would like to congratulate all of those receiving citations this year and urge them to continue to inspire not only their students but their fellow colleagues.”

Further citations will be presented at four ceremonies over coming weeks in Adelaide, Perth, Brisbane and Melbourne.

A full list of recipients is available at: