Communities throughout the Basin can look forward to being able to contribute to the decision making that occurs on the ground around environmental water use following the appointment of local engagement officers.

“The Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder has selected six professionals who not only bring a wealth of experience to the role but who have significant connections to Murray-Darling Basin communities,” said Senator Simon Birmingham, Parliamentary Secretary for the Environment. 

“The Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder has responded to community demand for improved local connections to the national management of environmental water in the Murray-Darling Basin,” Senator Birmingham said.  

“Local information and experience is critical to being able to effectively manage and deliver Commonwealth environmental water.

“These six officers have an enormous depth and breadth of experience in regional and remote Australia.  They have worked in and around fishing, agri-business, land management, education, sustainable resource use and rural finance and are highly knowledgeable in natural resource management and water policies. 

“By making such a wealth of experience available on-the-ground, the Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder is able to harness local knowledge to ensure we use Commonwealth environmental water to its best effect. 

“They will prove to be important conduits, working alongside other officers of local land and water management agencies and will work closely with all levels of government as well as local communities and businesses across a range of catchments for which they have responsibility,” he said. 

The six local engagement officers will take up their posts during September and October. They will be based at Deniliquin, Leeton and Dubbo in New South Wales, Mildura in Victoria, Berri in South Australia and Goondiwindi in Queensland. 

Read more about the local engagement officers.