A group of eight leading education, finance and demography experts have been appointed to the National School Resourcing Board.

Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham said the Board would be an expert body with members nominated by the Commonwealth, states and territories and the non-government sectors to review and recommend improvements to the way Commonwealth school funding is distributed across Australia.

“This Board will provide a level of independent oversight of the spending efforts of the Commonwealth, states and territories,” Minister Birmingham said.

“The National School Resourcing Board was a recommendation of the 2011 ‘Gonski Review’.

“Now that we’ve locked in a new schools funding system and an additional $23.5 billion so students get the support and quality education they need to succeed, we want to ensure all Australians can be confident that funding is distributed fairly and consistently and that the greatest level of funding is flowing to the students and communities that need it most.

“The Board will help to continually improve the school funding model by using the best possible data and metrics to ensure it genuinely reflects needs and supports our schools appropriately.

“These are independent experts that will ensure Australia’s schools funding system is honed for the benefits of its students.

“I thank my state and territory colleagues as well as the National Catholic Education Commission and the Independent Schools Council of Australia for their nominations to the Board and I look forward to working with them all to continue to improve Australia’s schools funding system.

“As promised, the first priority for the Board will be a review of the Socio Economic Status (SES) score methodology and current arrangements for determining the capacity of non-government school communities to contribute to the operational costs of their school.

“The Board will then examine the funding loading for students with a disability and the effective use of the Nationally Consistent Collection of Data on School Students with Disability.”

Minister Birmingham said the Board will also have a role in assessing compliance of school authorities with the requirements of the Act and in ensuring all levels of government meet their funding obligations.

“The ongoing work of the Chair and the Board will build even greater confidence that needs-based funding is allowing all young Australians to receive a world class education,” Minister Birmingham said.  

The eight inaugural members of the National School Resourcing Board include:

  • Dr Michael Chaney AO – Chair
  • Emeritus Professor Denise Bradley AC – Deputy Chair
  • Associate Professor Natalie Brown
  • Professor Greg Craven AO
  • Mr Bill Daniels AM
  • Professor Stephen Lamb
  • Professor Ken Smith
  • Dr Alison Taylor

Further information on the National School Resourcing Board as well as biographies of its members is available at:  www.education.gov.au/school-resourcing-board