The innovation and commitment of academics and educators in South Australia and the Northern Territory have been recognised as part of the Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) recognise and reward staff who have made significant contributions to the quality of student learning over a sustained period.

Six citations have been awarded to staff at the University of South Australia and the University of Adelaide, with a citation also awarded to Flinders Northern Territory.

Minister for Education and Training, Simon Birmingham, said there is an exciting level of innovation and initiative at the heart of the work of this year’s citation recipients.

“This year’s citations are recognising educators from a wide variety of disciplines including environmental science to glass artistry, health and engineering,” Minister Birmingham said.

“Dr Tom Raimondo and the Environmental and Geospatial Sciences Program Team at the University of South Australia transformed the way students are taught in the field, thanks to the use of immersive digital visualisations.

“Citations have also been awarded to Gabriella Bisetto for helping students graduate as successful glass artists, as well as Dr Cassandra Loeser, Professor Alistair McCulloch and Dr Sally Plush for their work in helping develop degree supervisors and peer learning strategies at the University of South Australia.

“I congratulate Associate Professor Narelle Campbell, Dr Helen Wozniak, Associate Professor Sue Lenthall and
Annie Farthing from the Flinders Northern Territory Team for their work in providing development assistance to health workers in remote locations.

“The development of new curricula for professional engineering by Professor Michael Liebelt, as well as the colleague development program by the BEST Team at the University of Adelaide, were also recognised at today’s awards ceremony.

“The Turnbull Government is proud of the strength of the higher education sector, but it’s only made possible thanks to the dedication and professionalism of our university educators, some of whom we recognise through these citations.

“I would like to congratulate all of those receiving citations this year and urge them to continue to inspire not only their students but their fellow colleagues.”

Further citations will be presented at ceremonies over coming weeks in Perth, Brisbane and Melbourne.

A full list of recipients is available at: