The passion and dedication of academics in Victoria and Tasmania has been celebrated as part of Australia’s premier awards for university teaching.

The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) recognise and reward educators who have made significant contributions to the quality of student learning over a sustained period.

At today’s awards ceremony at the Arts Centre in Melbourne, Victorian and Tasmanian institutions were awarded a total of 19 citations with recipients represented from:
• La Trobe University – 2 citations
• Deakin University – 1 citation
• Monash University – 5 citations
• Swinburne University of Technology – 2 citations
• RMIT University – 2 citations
• The University of Melbourne – 3 citations
• Federation University – 1 citation
• University of Tasmania – 3 citations

Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham said there is an exciting level of innovation and initiative at the heart of the work of this year’s citation recipients.

“The VIC/TAS award winners are evidence of the quality of the education experience that students receive from Australian universities,” Minister Birmingham said.

“Amongst the winners was Professor Rob White from the University of Tasmania who was recognised for establishing Tasmania’s first-ever criminology program and positively contributing to the state’s criminal justice system.

“The Agricultural Sciences Teaching team at La Trobe University was acknowledged for developing a new style of teaching agricultural sciences with a focus on increasing student engagement and improving employment outcomes by encouraging students to apply what they have learned to real life agriculture challenges.

“Dr Sabina Sestigiani from Swinburne University of Technology was also recognised for her unique approach to Italian studies using theatrical performance to engage and inspire her students.

“The Australian Government is proud of the strength of the higher education sector, but it’s only made possible thanks to the dedication and professionalism of our university educators, some of whom we recognise through these citations.

“I would like to congratulate all of those receiving citations this year and urge them to continue to inspire, not only their students but their fellow colleagues.”

A full list of recipients is available at: